Research Maniacs     Directory  |   Follow  |   Search  

Mississippi Electoral Votes
How many electoral votes does Mississippi have?

The electoral votes from Mississippi and the other states are used to elect a President and Vice President every four years. Whichever Presidential candidate gets the majority of the electoral votes becomes the President.

Mississippi is given one electoral vote for each Mississippi congressional district, in addition to one electoral vote for each of the two Mississippi Senators. In other words, the number of electoral votes Mississippi has depends on how many Representatives Mississippi has in Washington, D.C.

The number of Senators Mississippi has does not change, but the number of Mississippi congressional districts is based on the last census.

Like every other state, Mississippi has 2 Senators. Furthermore, Mississippi currently has 4 congressional districts. Thus, Mississippi has a total of 6 Representatives in Washington, D.C.

Therefore, the answer to the question "How many electoral votes does Mississippi have?" is 6.

Electoral Votes by state
Check to see how many electoral votes other states have.

Presidential Elections
Get facts about all the Presidential elections here.


Copyright  |   Privacy Policy  |   Social Media  |   Disclaimer  |   Contact  |   Advertise