Research Maniacs     Directory  |   Follow  |   Search  

New York Electoral Votes
How many electoral votes does New York have?

The electoral votes from New York and the other states are used to elect a President and Vice President every four years. Whichever Presidential candidate gets the majority of the electoral votes becomes the President.

New York is given one electoral vote for each New York congressional district, in addition to one electoral vote for each of the two New York Senators. In other words, the number of electoral votes New York has depends on how many Representatives New York has in Washington, D.C.

The number of Senators New York has does not change, but the number of New York congressional districts is based on the last census.

Like every other state, New York has 2 Senators. Furthermore, New York currently has 27 congressional districts. Thus, New York has a total of 29 Representatives in Washington, D.C.

Therefore, the answer to the question "How many electoral votes does New York have?" is 29.

Electoral Votes by state
Check to see how many electoral votes other states have.

Presidential Elections
Get facts about all the Presidential elections here.


Copyright  |   Privacy Policy  |   Social Media  |   Disclaimer  |   Contact  |   Advertise