Research Maniacs     Directory  |   Follow  |   Search  

South Carolina Electoral Votes
How many electoral votes does South Carolina have?

The electoral votes from South Carolina and the other states are used to elect a President and Vice President every four years. Whichever Presidential candidate gets the majority of the electoral votes becomes the President.

South Carolina is given one electoral vote for each South Carolina congressional district, in addition to one electoral vote for each of the two South Carolina Senators. In other words, the number of electoral votes South Carolina has depends on how many Representatives South Carolina has in Washington, D.C.

The number of Senators South Carolina has does not change, but the number of South Carolina congressional districts is based on the last census.

Like every other state, South Carolina has 2 Senators. Furthermore, South Carolina currently has 7 congressional districts. Thus, South Carolina has a total of 9 Representatives in Washington, D.C.

Therefore, the answer to the question "How many electoral votes does South Carolina have?" is 9.

Electoral Votes by state
Check to see how many electoral votes other states have.

Presidential Elections
Get facts about all the Presidential elections here.


Copyright  |   Privacy Policy  |   Social Media  |   Disclaimer  |   Contact  |   Advertise